We Make Connecticut Happen

Local 1303 Scholarship Winners

AFSCME Local 1303, representing more than 8,000 municipal and board of education employees, announced the winners of the 2011 Local 1303 Chapter Scholarship.

Local 1303 awarded eight $1,000 scholarship to the following college-bound students, whose union parents anc local chapters are listed in parentheses.

Elizabeth Dwan (Marianne Dwan, 1303-247)
Erin Hallisey (Gena Hallisey 1303-132)
Samantha Kuykendall (Kimberlee Kuykendall 1303-201)
James Demetriades (Yollanda Demetriades 1303-280)
Kathleen McWilliams (Charissa McWilliams 1303-113)
Patrick Shea (Lisa Shea 1303-132)
Bridget Gavin (Nancy Gavin 1303-132)
Bryan Charette (Suzanne Charette 1303-257)
Tyler Tilbe (Cynthia Tilbe 1303-443)

Winners were selected based upon their grades, community involvement and their essay, "How being part of a union family benefits my life."

Here are a few excerpts from the winners' essays:

Bryan Charette: "Last spring my mom was really sick. The fact that she was part of a union helped her retain her job..Our family is really grateful that [she has union benefits] so that she has the security of knowing she will have a job and not lose it from being sick." (Bryan graduated from Nonnewaug High School in Woodbury and will attend RPI).

Elizabeth Dwan: "AFSCME has provided my mother with a sturdy foundation to advance in her career as a school nurse. Like my mother, I aspire to become a nurse and receive the joys of helping other people." (Elizabeth graduated from Thomaston High School and will attend Western Connecticut State University.)

Erin Hallisey: "My mother is a paraprofessional with the Captiol Region Education Council. My mother, sister and I will always be appreciative of the benefits and workplace protections that the union has provided for us since my mother became a member." (Erin graduated from Wethersfield High School and will attend Providence College.)

Congratulations to this year's winners, and best of luck in college.

Pictured, front row, l-r: Erin Hallisey, Bryan Charette and Elizabeth Dwan. Back row, l-r: Local 1303 Executive Board Member Michael Giberto; Gena Hallisey; Suzanne Charette; Marianne Dwan; and Local 1303 President Brian Mitchell.

Follow Us!

We Make Connecticut Happen Logo

Sign Up
Remember me