We Make Connecticut Happen

Local 1303 Scholarship Winners

Continuing its commitment to higher education, AFSCME Local 1303, representing 8,000 municipal and board of education employees, has awarded eight $1,000 scholarships to college-bound students whose parents belong to Local1303 chapters.

Every year, Local 1303 leadership selects scholarship recipients based upon their grades, community involvement and an essay on the importance of union membership.

This year’s student winners (with parents and local unions listed in parenthesis):

  • Chloe Anderson (Ramona Anderson,1303-332)
  • Taylor Burton (Karen Vaiciulis, 1303-211
  • Thomas Fitzgerald (David Fitzgerald, 1303-077)
  • Morgan Griffin (Becky Griffin, 1303-189)
  • Landon Kane (Cynthia Kane, 1303-278)
  • Olivia O’Connor (Peter O’Connor, 1303-061)
  • Michaela Ryan (Dara Ryan, 1303-349)
  • Nicholas Van Wyngararden (Henry Van Wyngaarden, 1303-086)

“Knowledge is power,” said Local 1303 President Brian Mitchell, “so it’s an honor to help the children of our union members pursue their dream of a college degree.”

Congratulations to the 2012 scholarship-winning students and their parents.

Seated in the photo, l-r: Morgan Griffin, Chloe Anderson, Olivia O’Connor and Thomas Fitzgerald. Standing, l-r: Becky Griffin, Ramona Anderson, Local 1303 President Brian Mitchell, Peter O’Connor and David Fitzgerald.

Follow Us!

We Make Connecticut Happen Logo

Sign Up
Remember me